Same-Sex Relationships, God, and the Search for Truth

Over the Christmas holiday last year, my sister and I were driving to an antique shop with teenage nieces in the back seat when she turned to me and asked, “Did you know Jen Hatmaker decided to accept gay marriage? I don’t understand her theology. Can you explain it?” I was grateful for her question and interest in a challenging topic. As a biblical scholar, who also researches sexuality, I am frequently asked what Scripture says about same-sex relationships. So, I decided to write a blog series for folk like my sister. But I also hope it will be helpful to people regardless of theological position.

UPDATE: I am happy to announce that the publisher WB Eerdmans has offered me a book contract! Since some material from my blog series will be incorporated into that book, understandably, I had to remove certain posts from the web. However, the response to my blog series was very positive. Many people found that it explained the issues in a way they had not heard before, while also being very accessible to the everyday reader. The working Table of Contents for my upcoming book is below. Stay tuned for updates on when it hits the shelves. This is a book that will change the conversation on same-sex relationships.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • Preface
  • The Church’s Response to the Gay Community: A Brief History
  • Same-Sex Relations in Ancient Jewish and Christian Thought
  • Key Arguments in Today’s Debate on Same-Sex Relationships
  • What Is Ethical? Interpreting the Bible Like Jesus
  • The Question of Celibacy for Gay and Lesbian People
  • Is it Adam’s Fault? Why the Origins of Same-Sex Attraction Matters
  • Imagining a New Response to the Gay Community
  • Appendix A: Fifty Shekels for Rape? Making Sense of Old Testament Laws

See also:

Is the Nashville Statement Biblical?

Blue Babies Pink: A Southern Coming Out Story by Brett Trapp. I have read many, many books and articles on faith and sexuality, but this is the best one I have come across so far. I binge-read it. I couldn’t put it down.

2 thoughts on “Same-Sex Relationships, God, and the Search for Truth

  1. […] Same-Sex Relationships, God, and the Search for Truth (Karen R. Keen, Interpreting Scripture, 17 July 2017): This is a series of five (long!) posts on LGBT issues and Scripture/the Church.  There are dozens of books that look at this issue, some better than others (I would personally recommend Torn by Justin Lee and God and the Gay Christian by Matthew Vines for a Side A perspective, and Spiritual Friendship and Washed and Waiting by Wesley Hill for a Side B perspective).  I appreciated this series of posts because it is accessible, relevant to the moment (eg, as a culture we’re beyond debating whether you can “change” orientation), honest, ethical, thorough, practical , and most of all, compassionate.  Of all the posts that I reference here, this is probably the one (well, set) I would most strongly recommend reading. […]

Leave a Reply

